Airline Mogul Forum

GIMP question...

GQfluffy

• Airline Operative
    • View Profile
on: October 14, 2011, 08:13:50 pm
It's been a while since I've been on the AM...much less on the forum, but I seem to recall some members using GIMP. Why? I assume because it was cheap (free) and somewhat easy to use. Now, I'm a drafter by trade; I understand layers, freezing them, thawing, etc etc...but for some stupid reason the layers on GIMP plumb evade me.

I've used Corel Paintshop Pro X in the past (and yes, I know it has layers as well...but again...I just can't seem to get the program to do what I want. In the image below, I just painstakingly painted betwixt the lines as I like the fuselage panels showing...makes it more realistic it seems-

Now on the next drawing (shamelessly showing MrOrange's image...thank you, and I'll remove it if asked)-

You still see the fuselage panels, yet they're..."colored in" in a sense? Does it make sense it what I'm saying? I remember from several livery threads several members saying they accomplish the above by using layers in GIMP, but I can't figure it out. I also seem to remember it takes them maybe 10-20 minutes to do a livery instead of several hours. Does anyone care to share how exactly they go about it?

Thanks for any and all response(s).

PW#1924. Realistic World V2.0 - Fluffy Flyways

PW#1991. - Fluffy Flyways

1993matias

• Airline Mogul Staff
  • Airline Senior Manager
  • Play to have fun!
    • View Profile
    • Train pins and tie clips
Reply #1 on: October 15, 2011, 09:11:29 am
I do it like this:

Put the aircraft template as the top layer. Select it and go to Layers > transparency > colour to alpha; then clock OK.

This way the aircraft will be transparent, but you will have to trace a line as an edge on the colouring layer to keep a boundary.

Examples:

^^^