Hi,

-----------------------------------
Airline ID: 42614
World ID: 1550
Current world year: 1999
Current bases: DEL, LHE
DOC: 1,036,475
Forum code: Airline Mogul - See my airline

Goals: Learning to play so that I will have a plan for the next world.
-----------------------------------

I am new to Airline Mogul and have read the wikis and a lot of the forum posts.  I started two days ago with DEL as my first base and quickly grew to 7 airlines (6 leases) covering all airports within 500nm of DEL.  All aircraft are L-420s.  After reaching a DOC of 1million, I decided to open a base at LHE with the idea of covering all airports within 500nm.  With LHE and DEL nearby, I thought this will help in increasing utilisation at the other gates that are within range of both DEL and LHE.  However, that is when I learnt that LHE is too small to be a profitable base.  I need to target cities with traffic > 15m to make profitable networks.

1) What I have been unable to answer just yet is how should I grow my network?   Should I look at getting longer range aircraft with higher seat numbers and then replace my L-420s with them, for eg, ATR-72s.  In this way, I can slowly expand the network to higher ranges.  Or should I keep the smaller aircraft and use the newer bigger aircraft on longer routes (say between 500nm and 1000nm). 

2) Some of the smaller airports have traffic in the 100s, eg 750.  Is that annual or monthly or daily as that could affect which aircraft is used to fly to that airport.  I think it is annual, which would make the daily figure 2.6 which does not match up with me having 100% load factor on flights to that airport.  As part of my strategy, I would like to cover all airports within range, so making the most money is not the prime objective.