Airline Mogul Forum

Replacing or expanding

dimitris340

• Airline Operative
    • View Profile
on: June 18, 2009, 05:35:18 pm
Hey all,

I am relatively new to AM and i started about a week ago in a private world.
I currently have 2 planes and 19 routes, 9 of which with an old prop (around 40 seats, over 10 years old) and 10 with a relatively new ATR. I have a DOC of 520k and a monthly profit of around 10mil. What should i do first? replace the old prop with a new one cheaper to maintain, or expand to more destinations with a new ATR? The expansion will require also the rental of another 200k gate.

Thanks again for the great help you provide us the newer in the game!

Frequent Flyer

• Airline Operative
    • View Profile
Reply #1 on: June 18, 2009, 05:42:51 pm
REPLACE THE OLD PLANES -
It's not recommended to keep airplanes older than 3 years in AM - after that they start costing alot of money to maintain.

pseudoswede

• Airline Manager
  • Play to win, not imitate.
    • View Profile
Reply #2 on: June 18, 2009, 06:34:24 pm
REPLACE THE OLD PLANES -
It's not recommended to keep airplanes older than 3 years in AM - after that they start costing alot of money to maintain.

Well, you can keep prop planes around for longer than 3 years. Although I do agree that 10-year-old planes should be scrapped for a newer one as soon as possible.

Planet Express Airways
Member of the FT Alliance
ID: 3446

Opinions expressed in my posts are suggestions to achieve maximum airline value and top rankings.
If you do not wish for either, then feel free to ignore.

dimitris340

• Airline Operative
    • View Profile
Reply #3 on: June 19, 2009, 09:04:12 am
Don't worry, it is already scheduled and tonight i will have brand new prop to boost my profits. Also, i will order in 2 hours another bigger prop for my expansion.
I can say that leasing is good but being an aviation enthusiast, ordering new planes is much more thrilling :P.

iranair777

• Brokers
  • Airline Senior Manager