Airline Mogul Forum

When to open a new hub?

East West Airlines

• Airline Operative
    • View Profile
on: January 04, 2015, 11:50:37 pm
I have been playing AM for upwards of 5 years however stopped playing for a while and recently have started up again. I am of course using the premium Gate Search (I'm no rookie ;) ) however I need some help with expanding my airline. I have a general "business plan" set up in terms of where I want to open hubs and I am already in an alliance.

My DOC is over 10 million already which is good but not great. I have regularly in the past opened up anywhere from 2-7 bases but still to this day never knew when the right time to "make the leap" and open a new one.

Currently I am based at LAX and am allowed 4 bases. I have plans to open in IAH (to play off of my alliance members DFW base and allow him to do the same at IAH) and then another at JFK  after that with the 4th open to something more obscure and fun like Honolulu or a foreign base in Europe or something.

So my question is, when should I open up in Houston? My thoughts are that I would need 10-15 of my primary use aircraft (A320-200) and 15-20 combined of my smaller regional aircraft (ERJ-145 and ERJ-170STD) I also thought maybe I should make the 170s into ERJ-190s as they are slightly bigger and just ditching the 170 fleet all together.

thoughts?

1993matias

• Airline Mogul Staff
  • Airline Senior Manager
  • Play to have fun!
    • View Profile
    • Train pins and tie clips
Reply #1 on: January 05, 2015, 03:43:19 pm
I open a new base when I can afford the cost of it in half a month or so. As I see your base plans are far away from your home base, I'd suggest to wait a bit longer. I'm not sure what's most profitable, but if you have a DOC of a few million, you won't fail, that's for sure ;)

dktc

• Administrator
  • Airline Board Member
    • View Profile
Reply #2 on: January 11, 2015, 03:28:46 am
Depends on how you look at it really.